Skip to content

Oh Advent Tree

December 17, 2012

Photo Dec 12, 9 10 41 PM

There are a ton of things I love about Christmas, but my all-time favorite is the childhood Advent tree that I inherited from my parents. Ever since JD and I got married, I was able to use the Advent tree at my own house… what a thrill! But, the icing on the cake is introducing this pretty thing to Maggie, who responded to it as well as I could have hoped.

The Advent tree was handmade by a family friend in Ponchatoula, so it has a lot of memories and sentimental value from when I was very little. I had hoped that Maggie would also have that same joy of counting down to Jesus’s birthday. And even though Maggie is only 9 months old, I can tell that she already enjoys it. She lights up when we count to the date, and she smiles when we pull the ornament out of the day’s pocket.

Photo Dec 12, 9 17 22 PM

Other little Maggie-friendly Christmas things this year include a ribbon-only Christmas tree. I fuzzied up the photo below (intentionally on Instagram), but here’s the best shot of the ribbon tree. I think it turned out nicely!

christmas tree

And, as usual, our Christmas cards decorate our stairway railing. At this time of year, they get pretty full!

Photo Dec 16, 10 14 44 AM

Yes, our Christmas card is a little Maggie-centric this year, but, geez, how could it not be? What a cutie. Lucy made an appearance on the back…

IMG_0749

Have a wonderful, merry Christmas, friends! I’ll be back around New Year’s to talk about some New Year’s resolutions. I’d love to hear yours!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2012 8:33 pm

    Merry Christmas, Kate Schmate!

Leave a comment