Skip to content

Giralph, the 13-foot installation

October 6, 2014

I interrupt this regularly scheduled blog silence to bring you… Giralph, the 13-foot giraffe decoration I made for Alice-Anne’s birthday “party” this past weekend.

giralph

Everyone who saw this epic wall hanging insisted that it make the front page of Kate Schmate, so I couldn’t disappoint.

in the worksAlice-Anne has had a giraffe lovie since before she was born, so of course her birthday had to be giraffe-centered. After a living room furniture re-arrangement, we had a big gap on the wall. JD thought of the brilliant idea, and after some sketching, Giralph came to life.

I rarely am totally satisfied with the things I create, but I was thrilled at how epic and fun the decorations were. Despite it being completely over-the-top for a *very* small family party, it was fun to celebrate with new art.

I also made a strawberry cake from this recipe, using Ponchatoula strawberries. It was definitely a winner with the least picky person in our household (Alice-Anne). I would recommend it for any occasion.

The birthday girl also had a great time!

IMG_2515

IMG_2528

IMG_2569

photo-54

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Zabbia permalink
    October 7, 2014 7:11 am

    It is huge and glorious. Giralph rules the living room!

  2. October 8, 2014 11:01 am

    The giraffe look amazing Kate!

Leave a comment