Skip to content

Resolutioning in 2013

January 1, 2013
by LupenGrainne

“Take a Chance” by LupenGrainne

New Year’s resolutions… they feel so overdone. For so many years, I thought New Year’s resolutions were silly, but in recent years, I’ve decided it gives me great practice in goal-setting, looking ahead, assessing where we are and what needs to happen. If anything, it’s excellent self-reflection that should happen more often anyway… January 1 is just a great incentive.

So, in order to make myself a little more accountable, I’m throwing my New Year’s resolution out there, along with some readers’ resolves as well. What do you think? What are yours?

My resolution for this year is to have less guilt, do more exercise, and eat better. (So boring, I know!) I also want to complete a growth chart for Maggie (a project I’ve had on my mind for a few months now and hope to complete before her birthday), as well as do some house reorganization with the items I already have.

Here are a few others…

JD

Cussing less.

Della

1. My older sister and I are memorizing the Westminster Shorter Catechism. Two questions a week, all year!
2. Last year, Krammy and I spent less to pay off debt at rapid pace. It felt amazing and after a while it wasn’t even that hard to do. So this year, I want to start giving more. We have dear friends from Oklahoma who are trying to adopt. My goal is to save enough and give enough (without the help of my husband) to pay for their home study. I think it’s around $1000. It’s going to be tough, but I think I can do it. I’m praying that God will use this “exercise” to soften my heart and teach me more about himself. You can find their blog here.
3. Kids: finish teaching Cole to read and get Julia out of diapers.
Jessica
My New Year’s resolution is much the same as it was last year (obviously I followed through on it).
I would like to wake up an hour before everyone in the house to do whatever I want yoga, read, whatever so I have that time by myself before the whole house gets up and starts being all crazy.
Last year I made the same resolution, but the only time I got up early was when I played tennis 3x a week at 6:00am from June-October, but if I was not playing tennis, I was sleeping.
Mary
I have two ways that I want to improve myself in 2013.
I need to write more letters to my grandparents!  I don’t have a specific quantity, but I’d feel good if I got a letter in the mail once a month or so.  I should put a reminder in my phone so that I actually do this!
I also want to pick up the guitar again.  I’ve actually pulled it out recently and have been picking at it.  I’ve used YouTube some to relearn (I’m starting back at beginner–I don’t remember anything), but I’m just getting started.
Alex (please check out Alex’s blog!)
Along with the usual suspects [eat well, move more, love entirely and live immensely] I have a one word resolution for 2013 – spontaneity. I love that I live in Nashville and hope to quiet my wanderlust by breaking out of my usual routine and begin to truly enjoy and appreciate the unusual, the small, the out-of-the-ordinary that makes Nashville so special.
Libby
My New Year’s resolution is to get up when my alarm goes off the first time instead of the tenth.
Heat
Walk to and from work 3 days per week.
Bring my lunch (or otherwise eat for free) 3 days per week.
Emily
I want to work on my financial responsibility. Of course I’m also going to try to get back on track health wise.
Momma
I want to resoundingly beat my son-in-law at Words with Friends at least once.
Casey
New Year’s Resolutions…I am not a huge maker of these, because I tend to make resolutions all year long. :) But more so than ever before, mine is to spend 2013 getting organized!  Now that I don’t have an infant in the house, and knowing that my studio will be completed this year, I am making it a priority to de-clutter the house, weed through the kids’ toys, and organize my storage areas (such as laundry room, closets, etc) so that we can use our space to its fullest potential!  It may take most (or all, haha) of the year, but we will do it!  First up, I’m going through toys and donating what we have outgrown.
Sarah
Enjoy my children more!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2013 5:47 pm

    My new year’s resolution is to do a better job at submitting new year’s resolutions to “Kate Schmate” next year.

  2. Stu permalink
    January 14, 2013 11:55 am

    Way to shoot for the stars, there, Graham.

Trackbacks

  1. Maggie’s First Birthday Party | Kate Schmate

Leave a comment