Skip to content

Friday Feast: Roasted Asparagus

April 13, 2012

So, it’s been awhile since I’ve cooked… JD and I have been blessed with very kind family and friends who have fed us for the past 7 weeks since Maggie was born. But, this week was the first time I actually had to put something together myself, because I also felt healed enough from the c-section to do so. And what did I do? Heat up a casserole. (ha!) I also made some asparagus, which is sort of an adventure for me.

While in Whole Foods with Maggie in tow, I rushed around gathering what I needed, just hoping she wouldn’t get fussy. (She didn’t, but I was certain she would!) I sped through produce and noticed that asparagus was on sale and displayed beautifully (darn you, Whole Foods and your pretty displays!), so I picked up a bunch and proceeded to finish my shopping, completely unsure of how I’d prepare them later that night.

Once home, I consulted three recipes and decided to go with a combination of all three (Ina, Alton, and Pioneer Woman). The veggie turned out wonderfully, and JD and I devoured all of them. Here’s the abbreviated version of how I decided to approach the asparagus:

  • Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  • Cut off the hard parts of the asparagus ends, and don’t bother peeling. (Fatter asparagus works best for this recipe.)
  • Lay out the asparagus on a nonstick pan.
  • Liberally apply EVOO, kosher salt and fresh-cracked pepper to the pan full of veggies.
  • Cook in oven for 10 minutes.

Yeah, yeah… not novel, but a very easy way to incorporate more greens into your meals. PS: The next day, they are a great snack cold.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. megstermeter permalink
    April 16, 2012 9:17 am

    I learned something about asparagus recently! So apparently they have a natural breaking point, so instead of cutting off the ends you are supposed to snap them, and the woody part will snap in the right place. My mother taught me this because I have struggled to ever be happy with my cooked asparagus. Your directions are super helpful :)

Leave a comment