Skip to content

No-flat November

November 6, 2010

I mean, why not? I’m just going to start knocking them off my list. I’ve started wearing heels to work every day, and so far… the calves are tighter! We’re only five days down, but it’s very interesting so far. How do women do it every day?? I guess that’s why I’m trying this out. Yes, this is a weird 30 before 30 list item, but who cares? It’s my list!

I realized this week that my number of heel choices are quite limited. I only have one heeled pair of boots, two comfortable pairs of heels, a few ugly but comfortable pumps, and a bunch of uncomfortable shoes. So, what’s a girl to do for the whole month of No-flat November? Spice up what you have!

Remember this post where I found where you can use Krylon leafing pens to paint some shoes? Well, I did just that this week… and they look great. I can’t wait to fit them into the November rotation starting Monday. Special shout-out to my mom who bought and brought me this paint pen on a recent visit.

Ok, we started with these… some cute brown shoes I wore often when we lived in Athens 3 years ago. Yes, cute, but kind of plain.

I couldn’t wait to start painting these puppies! I did very little to prepare… I put down some newspaper and used a clothes pin to clip the bows together and away from touching the surface of the shoes. Then, I just started coloring in short strokes.

Here was one shoe after the first coat. At this point, I said to myself, “Dang. Have I ruined this shoe?”

I waited about an hour (although it wasn’t necessary to wait that long), and filled in the dark patches. I also decided to go ahead and color in the heel… I hesitated since I left the edges and the bow brown. But, after the second “coat,” the shoes looked great. I’m really happy with the results… and I only used one pen!! I didn’t even run out, and there is still some paint left for scuff ups.

How fun are these??

PS: Obviously, no Friday Feast yesterday. My attempt to make peppermint patties resulted in World War 3, and I lost. Fail, Kate… fail. I’m not going to stop trying though! I’ll keep you posted.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hillary permalink
    November 6, 2010 1:51 pm

    Beautiful!

  2. Kim permalink
    November 6, 2010 8:34 pm

    I’m glad the pen worked so well for you. Krylon is a good company. But, Kate, are those really your blue stockings or Photoshop?

  3. November 7, 2010 12:04 pm

    oh my gosh! they look AWESOME! nice work ;)

  4. Annette permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:53 pm

    So this is November 30, 2010. Are you wearing flats tomorrow?

Trackbacks

  1. Luster Cluster: safety pins, upcycling, and wings « Kate Schmate

Leave a comment