Skip to content

Whimsical Work

February 24, 2009

“Whimsical” was the phrase my printmaking teacher used to describe my work last fall, and at first, I must admit, I was a bit offended. I took it to mean that he didn’t think of me as a serious printmaker and that my work was childish. More and more as I think back to that night, I have come to realize that he was probably paying me a compliment, that whimsical can be serious too, and that I have identified my style. I’m decidedly ok with this!

Once I realized that this is the style I like, I’ve been able to pinpoint more clearly why I like certain art and crafts. For example, this Etsy shop, Ulaa’s Bazaar, is absolutely beautiful and whimsical. How great are these pieces?

ulaa-poppy-flowers

ulaa-happy-home

ulaa-flying

ulaa-red-flowers

Leave a comment